Destiny 2 Seasons: Dates, Power Cap and more

While big expansions get most of the attention, Seasons are what keep Destiny 2 alive throughout the year.

With an average of 4 seasons per year, they are responsible for most of the new gear and activities that keep us coming back for more. Seasons are the backbone of the game’s roadmap and future.

Checkmark icon V3Updated as of Season of Plunder’s release (S18).

Destiny 2 Seasons list

This list features every Destiny 2 Season released so far and includes their start and end dates, their Power cap, and their endgame content.

-SeasonTitleStart DateEnd DateMax PowerEndgame content
Season 1 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 1Red War6 September 20175 December 2017305Leviathan Raid
Season 2 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 2Curse of Osiris5 December 20178 May 2018335Eater of Worlds Raid Lair
Season 3 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 3Warmind8 May 20184 September 2018385Spire of Stars Raid Lair
Season 4 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 4Forsaken DLC
Season of the Outlaw
4 September 20184 December 2018600Last Wish Raid and Shattered Throne Dungeon
Season 5 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 5Season of the Forge4 December 20185 March 2019650Scourge of the Past Raid
Season 6 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 6Season of the Drifter5 March 20194 June 2019700-
Season 7 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 7Season of Opulence4 June 201930 September 2019750Crown of Sorrow Raid
Season 8 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 8Shadowkeep DLC
Season of the Undying
1 October 201910 December 2019960Garden of Salvation Raid and Pit of Heresy Dungeon
Season 9 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 9Season of Dawn10 December 20199 March 2020970-
Season 10 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 10Season of the Worthy10 March 20209 June 20201010-
Season 11 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 11Season of Arrivals9 June 202010 November 20201060Prophecy Dungeon
Season 12 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 12Beyond Light DLC
Season of the Hunt
10 November 20209 February 20211260Deep Stone Crypt Raid
Season13 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 13Season of the Chosen9 February 202111 May 20211310-
Season 14 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 14Season of the Splicer11 May 202124 August 20211320Vault of Glass Raid
Season15 art Destiny 2 900pSeason 15Season of the Lost24 August 202122 February 20221330-
30th Anniversary art Destiny 2 900pSpecial event30th Anniversary*7 December 202122 February 20221330Grasp of Avarice Dungeon
Season16 TBC art Destiny 2 900pSeason 16The Witch Queen DLC
Season of the Risen
22 February 202224 May 20221560Vow of the Disciple Raid
Season 17Season of the Haunted24 May 202223 August 20221570Duality Dungeon
Season 18Season 18Season of Plunder23 August 20226 December 20221580King's Fall Raid
Pyramids Darkness Destiny 2 900pSeason 19Season of [Redacted]6 December 20226 March 20231590New Dungeon (TBC)

* For the sake of clarity, Bungie’s 30th Anniversary pack was not technically a season. That said, it was more expensive than a Season, included arguably as much content as a Season, and it was introduced instead of a Season (which was postponed alongside The Witch Queen’s delay).

If you’re unclear on what is still available in the game and what has been removed to put into the Destiny Content Vault, this post will tell you exactly what content is still available. And if you want to get your information straight from the source, this post covers all recent TWAB (Bungie’s weekly blog post).

What you can expect from a Season

Seasons are a great value and are absolutely worth the $10 they cost. Not convinced? Just look at everything you can expect from a Season in Destiny 2:

  • New story missions
  • A new seasonal activity
  • New weapons (10+ per season)
  • New armor sets

Plus, Seasons often come with new content that is available to both season pass holders and free-to-play players. For example, some Seasons include:

  • Reprised Raids (such as Vault of Glass)
  • Dungeons (such as Prophecy)
  • New Playlist, Nightfall, and Iron Banner weapons

What you should not expect from a Season

Seasons are, indeed, a great value, but you can’t be surprised that some things are only available with the purchase of more expensive Yearly Expansions.

These are the pieces of content that are generally reserved for yearly Expansions:

  • A new story campaign
  • A new activity (like Nightmare Hunts or Empire Hunts)
  • A brand-new raid
  • Sometimes, a brand-new dungeon

And of course, Expansions also offer things that are accessible to free-to-play players too. Some examples:

  • A new destination
  • A new element (like Stasis) or reworked element (like the upcoming Solar 3.0)

While seasons all cost the same, $10, the same can’t be said about their quality levels. Some were real bangers while others left a lot to be desired. That said, the quality of Seasons continues to improve over time. I expect the Witch Queen’s seasons to be among the best we’ve seen so far.

What is your favorite Season in Destiny 2? I’m definitely split between Season of Arrivals and Season of Opulence…

About The Author

Ric Molina
Ric Molina
I've been covering gaming since 2012, and some of my work has been featured by large brands, including, Forbes, Rock Paper Shotgun, and more. I've been obsessed with Destiny 2 for years now, and I hope to provide new and returning players with the guides and resources I wish I had when I first started.
More from Ric Molina
Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Beginner's Guide

Beginner's Guide Preview small

New Beginner's Guide e-mag

New to Destiny 2? Or perhaps returning after a long time? This e-mag, created with a renowned artist, covers ALL the basics

Check your email for the download link: